

The Evangelical Covenant Church presents the 2024 T.W. Anderson Outstanding Layperson Award to

Scott Peterson



Scott Peterson has been a lifelong member of First Evangelical Covenant Church of Grand Rapids, Michigan. His life is a testimony to his faith and his love of the mission of the gospel. For over 50 years, he has been a faithful servant of the Lord.

Scott has served not only at First Evangelical Covenant Church but has extended himself beyond the walls of the church to share the gospel. He has volunteered at several CHIC (now Unite) conferences and volunteered on high school ski trips, bike trips, and countless trips to Portage Lake Covenant Bible Camp with groups for camp workdays.

Scott's work at Portage Lake Covenant Bible Camp has shined a light on his love for the Lord. He loved camp as a kid, and he and his family saw camp life as a missional life. Scott met his wife, Terry, while serving on summer staff at Portage Lake. An electrician by trade, Scott has used his expertise as an infrastructure problem-solver. Among his many efforts included are:

- Leading the building of new lakeside cabins, renovations on every building on camp, the moving of the camp road, the building of the challenge course, and his endless work to keep all systems functioning.
- Filling in as cook—managing the kitchen and staff for numerous summers when needed.
- Representing camp at zoning and township meetings on a regular basis.
- Encouraging summer staff and training them in many areas around camp.
- · Managing design and bidding for the camp dining hall project now underway.
- Simply supporting the work of camp.
- Organizing multiple golf fundraisers and other opportunities for people to financially support Portage Lake Covenant Bible Camp.

Over the years and decades Scott has lived a life of service, commitment, and love for the mission of the gospel.

We celebrate Scott Peterson, recipient of the 2024 T.W. Anderson Award, and give God thanks for his faithful service.

Presented at the 138th Annual Meeting, on the twenty-eighth day of June in the year of our Lord, two thousand twenty-four.

Tammy Swanson-Draheim, PRESIDENT

Dierdra Clark, CORPORATE SECRETARY

Drerdn Cluck