The Annual Meeting elects representative leadership to several oversight boards dealing with particular areas of ministry focus.

To learn more about nominations, click here. Please prayerfully consider the following list when referring potential names, or when filling out your own resume. For more information, email Norma Ramos at governance(at) or call (773) 907-3375


Executive Board

The Executive Board acts on behalf of the Annual Meeting between Annual Meetings. It is elected by delegates and provides oversight on a number of matters related to direction, policy, and financial responsibility. There are seven committees of the Executive Board: Make and Deepen Disciples; Start and Strengthen Churches; Communications; Love Mercy Do Justice; Serve Globally; Finance; and Personnel.

You can contact the executive board at


Board of Nominations

The Board of Nominations meets in October, with an annual conference call prior to Midwinter Conference in January, and develops the ballot voted on at the Annual Meeting of candidates for all denominational administrative boards. The board is responsible for securing qualified and dedicated people to influence the boards with their gifts, ethnic background, skills, gender, and ministry experience. The board is administered by the president of the Covenant and the executive vice president of the Covenant serves as advisor. Board members are nominated by regional conferences and/or ethnic representation. If interested in serving on this board, please contact your local conference office or ethnic organization. Read more…

back to top

Board of the Ordered Ministry

The Board of the Ordered Ministry consists of fourteen elected members, ranging in credentialed status, who meet prior to and during the Midwinter Conference and prior to the Annual Meeting. It is responsible for the supervision of ordination, licensure, care/discipline, and guidance of the ministry. The board works closely with North Park Theological Seminary in training ministerial candidates and is administered by the executive minister of the ordered ministry. This board seeks ministers and lay people who can devote themselves to a high time and energy commitment. Read more…


Board of Pensions and Benefits

The Board of Pensions and Benefits consists of twelve-members that meets three times a year in October, February, and May to conduct the pension program of the ministers and manage the group insurance plan for church workers through Bethany Benefit Service. Members may be asked to be on a committee relating to insurance, investment, rules, or audit matters. The board is administered by the vice president for finance of the Covenant, who also serves as the director of pensions. This board seeks persons with experience or background in investments, law, or health insurance. To learn more, read Section 10.4 of the Constitution and Bylaws.


Board of Benevolence

The Board of Benevolence consists of twenty-one to twenty-six members and meets four times per year, typically beginning on a Friday afternoon and ending the following day by mid-afternoon. Occasionally committee conference calls are scheduled between board meetings. This board is responsible for fourteen retirement campuses, two hospitals, one health and fitness center, four homes for adults with developmental disabilities, a children’s home, a ministry for victims of domestic violence, and an affordable assisted living facility. There are four committees which fall under the board: finance, compassion, audit, and executive. Board members will be assigned to either the finance or compassion committee and may be asked to serve on additional committees as appropriate. The board is administered by the president of Covenant Ministries of Benevolence and seeks persons with varied professional backgrounds; including health care, law, administration, business or investment backgrounds.

back to top

Board of Trustees of North Park University

(Includes undergraduate, graduate, and seminary programs). This board of trustees consists of up to thirty-six members, including twenty to twenty-four elected and up to nine appointed, and meets in October, February, and April. It is responsible for general supervision of the University; adopts policy and strategic plans and evaluates administration, and works on behalf of the institution in public relations and fundraising. Members are assigned to three of nine standing committees: finance, admissions and financial aid, seminary, academic, multicultural, campus development, student development, board process, and the executive board. This board is administered by the president of the University. It seeks members who uphold the mission of various programs at NPU, and can be generous in their personal financial support of North Park and in their encouragement of others to similar support.